Cover Story

Newly elected SRPMIC President Delbert Ray, Sr. (center) is surrounded by his family after the SPRMIC election results were announced late September 2 at the Salt River Community Building.

Community Elects New President, Council Representatives

By Richie Corrales
Au-Authm Action News

On September 2, the largest-ever number of enrolled Salt River Pima-Maricopa Indian Community members exercised their right to cast votes in the Community’s 2014 general election.

The newly elected president is Delbert Ray, Sr., with 1,069 votes. With 1,131 votes, incumbent Martin Harvier holds onto the office of vice-president.

The Salt River District I Council representatives are Jenelle Howard, Thomas Largo, Sr. and Andrew David Antone. The Lehi District II Council representative serving a four-year term is Michael Dallas. Ryan Andrews retains his office as chief judge.

For the 2014 SRPMIC General Election, there were 6,005 eligible enrolled Community-member voters; of those, 1,798 cast their ballots, for a voter turnout of 30 percent.

Normally, candidates began their campaigns in late July or early August, but this year the campaign trail began one month earlier than usual. For the first time in history, the Community held a primary election on August 5, narrowing down the field of candidates for the general election.

Polls opened at 6 a.m. on September 2. Voting got off to a slow start but picked up near the end of the day, when most voters left work and gathered to hear the results of the election. Candidates set up information tables outside the polling stations, hoping to gain last-minute support.

The SRPMIC Council preliminarily certified the results late Tuesday night. All election challenges must be filed by a candidate within 24 hours after the Council preliminarily certifies the election results.

Newly elected SRPMIC President Delbert Ray, Sr. said, “[I’m] putting my faith and trust in the Lord and moving forward for the people. I do have my priorities in talking to others in the days to come, and I’m ready to serve as president of the SRPMIC.”

Earlier in the day, Ray addressed the confusion among Community members about the general election process. “I just want to say that the whole process of the primary and general election does need some work; there were a lot of people who were very confused. I think after the election there needs to be some bugs removed.”

Incumbent Vice-President Martin Harvier was elected to a third term. “Every time I get voted in, I feel very humbled, even more so after hearing the record turnout of voters,” Harvier said. “I love this Community, and I look forward to another term serving as vice-president.”

Ryan Andrews was re-elected as chief judge with 930 votes. “I am thankful for the opportunity the people have given me once again. It was close, and I am just glad the Community chose me to be chief judge again. It’s an honor.”

“It was an honor for me to be a part of the election process. I feel with the primary and general election, it gave the people a second chance to vote,” said newly elected Council member Michael Dallas (District II).

The newly elected representatives will be sworn into office on Saturday, December 13. Watch Au-Authm Action News for further details.
SRPMIC General Election Results

Diane Enos, 719
Delbert Ray, Sr., 1069

Martin Harvier, 1131
Leonard Rivers, 655

Council Member–District I (Salt River)
Andrew David Antone, 788
Jenelle Howard, 926
Thomas Largo, Sr., 925

Clare Miller, 664
Cecelia Nash, 714

Council Member–District II (Lehi)
Michael Andrews, Jr., 172
Michael Dallas, 188

Chief Judge
Ryan Andrews, 930
Raymond Deer, 846



Community Elects New President, Council Representatives
The ALS Ice Bucket Challenge Comes to the Community
SRHS Composers Showcase Their Talents in Concert
YRPC Hosts Dinner for Youth Peace Ambassadors Conference