Cover Story

Newly elected Salt River Pima-Maricopa Indian Community Council Representative Archie Kashoya is congratulated by Andrea Stepp and his grand nephew.

2012 General Election Results

By Tasha Silverhorn
Au-Authm Action News

On September 4, 1,006 enrolled Salt River Pima-Maricopa Indian Community members over age 18 exercised their right to vote and elected Archie Kashoya, and incumbents Ricardo Leonard and Deanna Scabby to four-year terms on the SRPMIC Tribal Council.

Results were presented to the Tribal Council at approximately 7:20 p.m., a little over an hour after the polls closed at 6 p.m. at the Salt River and Lehi Community Buildings.

After the numbers were certified by Council, Archie Kashoya with 327 votes spoke with Au-Authm Action News about his win.

“I would like to say thanks to the people who supported me; my goals are to be the voice, we have to do it for our Himdak,” said Kashoya. “I really believe in that because our generations are at risk here, whether we try to fix some of the issues that deal with them and also the seniors because they are the ones we need to go to for that wisdom and teaching. Come talk to me whenever you want, I’ll be here.”

The newly elected representatives will be sworn into office tentatively on Saturday, December 15. More details will appear in the next Au-Authm Action News.

There were 5,964 Salt River Pima-Maricopa Indian Community members over the age of 18 that were eligible to vote.

Candidates have 24 hours to contest the election; however, the SRPMIC Code of Ordinances states: The declaration of election by the community council may be challenged only by appeal to the community council, which appeal the community council will hear and decide within twenty-four (24) hours of the declaration of election. No appeal to any court will lie from the final decision of the community council unless fraud is claimed to have changed the election results and influenced the determination of the community council, in which case an appeal to the community court may be brought.


Salt River District I

Janet Andrews - 89

A. David Antone - 109

James Butler - 85

Archie Kashoya - 327

Ricardo Leonard - 305

Kathy Ludlow - 81

Clare Miller - 156

Dixie Padilla - 92

Leonard Rivers - 179

Irma Smith - 162


Lehi District II

Leonard Dallas, Jr. - 35

Kim Manuel - 52

Deanna Scabby - 117


Election Results
Fifth Annual Disabilities Confrence
Salt River Elementary Voters
Dialysis Support Group Hosts Conference on Kidney Awareness