Sports & Recreation

Fort McDowell's team Flight battles it out in the 2012 New Year's Men's Basketball Tournament against the Salt River Beeliners.

The New Year’s Tournament

By Richie Corrales
Au-Authm Action News

Twelve teams participated in the 2012 New Year’s Men’s Basketball Tournament, held January 14 at the Pi-Copa Gym. The competition started at 10 a.m. and ended at 6:30 that evening.

In the championship game, two Salt River teams, the Salt River Warriors and the Salt River Beeliners, faced each other on the court. The Beeliners seemed to have the upper hand throughout most of the game, but then the Warriors saw an opening and were able to take advantage of it. They started outscoring the Beeliners every chance they got as the clock ticked down to minutes, then to seconds. The Salt River Warriors were the tournament champions, winning 56-47.

During the third-place game, Fort McDowell’s Flight team played against the Beeliners, who would barely prevail over the away team, beating them 60-57. Team Komatke from Gila River placed fourth in the tournament.
The players on teams that placed all received tournament T-shirts.

Champions: Salt River Warriors, Salt River
Second Place: Beeliners, Salt River
Third Place: Flight, Fort McDowell
Fourth Place: Komatke, Gila River


Salt River Basketball Takes on Fountain Hills
The New Year’s Tournament
Salt River High School Hosts Eagle Wrestling Invitational
Get 2012 Started with a New Beginning