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PURPOSE 
 
The purpose of this document is to clearly outline the process for an advanced life 
support (ALS)-certified provider to follow to maintain certification. 
 
 

POLICY STATEMENT 
 
Maintaining a valid Arizona certification as an emergency medical technician-
paramedic is the responsibility of the individual member. EMS staff as outlined in 
this procedure will provide support, guidance, and record keeping. 
 
 

PROCEDURE 
 

1. Every two years each Salt River Fire Department paramedic is required 
by Arizona Department of Health Services to accrue a minimum of 60 
hours of continuing education credit.  Nationally recognized certification 
requires a minimum of 72 hours of continuing education credit and 
although maintaining this status is encouraged, it is not mandated by 
the State of Arizona or the Salt River Fire Department. 

 
The Salt River fire Department’s medical direction and base station is 

Honor Health. It is a base station requirement that the paramedic 

attend a total of six (6) tape n charts through Honor Health in a two 

year period for recertification. The Salt River fire Department’s 

paramedic is required to contact the base station coordinator 

prior to on-line recertification to verify they have met this 

requirement. Failure to comply could result in loss of medical 

direction. 
 

 

2. It is the employee’s responsibility to keep track of their own individual 
recertification expiration dates and the SRFS EMS division will assist 
the employee with 90, 60, and 30 day expiration notices. At this time 
providers are encouraged to make an appointment with a 
representative of the SRFD EMS Division to assist in the completion of 
their recertification application.  
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3. Any paramedic that fails to accrue a minimum of 60 hours of continuing 
education as required by the state or base station; will be directed to 
make up the deficit in hours in a manner acceptable to the state and or 
base station. Documentation of this effort will be supplied to the EMS 
Chief. Once the application materials have been completed by the 
employee they can meet with the SRFD EMS chief to review. The 
paramedic will be directed to make an appointment with their base 
hospital paramedic coordinator for a recheck and to obtain the proper 
signatures if needed. 

4.  
If an employee allows their certification to expire they are subject to 
disciplinary action on part of the Salt River Fire Department as well as 
the base station.  If the employee has exceeded the recertification date 
by not more that 30 days they will be required to pay $150.00 to ADHS 
for recertification purposes. This cost is the responsibility of the 
employee and not the Salt River Fire Department. 
 
The employee is required to turn in copies of all EMS certifications to 
the EMS Chief and base station for tracking purposes. 

 
 

STANDARD 
 
DHS Rules and Regulations 
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